New Orleans Wine & Food Experience

Wine Enthusiast Magazine calls the New Orleans Wine & Food Experience one of the, "perennial Top Ten Wine and Food Festivals."  That's probably an understatement. The New Orleans Wine & Food Experience, one of the most prestigious festivals of its kind, celebrates 19 years of wine and food with a five-day extravaganza, May 26-29, 2010.

For the better part of two decades the NOWFE has been a non-profit fund raiser that celebrates and benefits the City that Time Forgot.  The list of beneficiaries is long and diverse.  This year it is likely the event will take a more urgent tone.  Oil is covering the Southern end of the state courtesy of BP and a lethargic response from the Obama Administration.  Louisiana Governor Bobby Jindal and several other state leaders like Plaquemines Parish president Billy Nungesser feel mounting frustration over the oil spill.  Nungesser who at first supported both BP and the government has since become infuriated by the oil company's lack of success and the government's lack of urgency in the matter calling both, "Bull shit."

As reported here last week, celebrity chefs John Besh, Aaron Sanchez and Food Network star Paula Deen along with 2009 James Beard Best Chef (South), John Currence are throwing together a six-course dinner with wine pairings to raise money for Louisiana fisherman losing income since the Gulf waters were closed to commercial fishing.  The special dinner costs  $300 per person or $5,000 for table sponsorship and will be held on May 29.  The dinner will begin at 7:30 p.m., with a VIP reception at 6:30 p.m.

But that's just a taste of the festivities planned for this year's NOWFE.  More than 175 Wineries from around the world & 75 of New Orleans’ best restaurants will showcase their offerings at a Five-Day Feast for All of the Senses!   Featured events include wine dinners, Vinola Tasting & Auction, Royal Street Stroll sponsored by Rouses, sand grand tastings.  to view the schedule click HERE.  Joining Chefs Besh and Sanchez will be Alon Shaya, Susan Spicer, Ben Thibodeaux, Drew Dzejak, Brian Landry, Chris Lusk, Tory McPhail, Gaeten Croiser, Donald Link, Matt Murphy, Jeff MckInnis and Hosea Rosenberg to name a few.
0 Responses